2020 Election Day - Chief and Council

Thanks to a massive effort by the many security and support/volunteer personnel, Niisaachewan Anishinaabe Nation successfully held the 2020 Band Election. Please see below the photo of the election board results.

2020 Election Results Board

The successful candidates are:

Lorraine Cobiness – Chief
Reno Cameron – Councillor
Bernice Major – Councillor
Fabian Blackhawk – Councillor
Martina Strong – Councillor

This system only works when people exercise their right to vote. This was a very difficult election to orchestrate considering the restrictions COVID-19 has forced upon the community. Chief and Council gives their warmest thanks to each and every Band Member who came out and waited for hours to vote.

The new Chief and Council are committed to continuing progress and moving forward together as a community.